You are here

General Information

About Us

The federal courts of appeals are the intermediate appellate courts between the district (trial) courts and the Supreme Court of the United States.

There are thirteen courts of appeals: eleven numbered circuits (First through Eleventh), the District of Columbia Circuit, and the Federal Circuit. The numbered circuits, including the Tenth Circuit, provide appellate review of all cases tried in the district courts within the geographic area of their jurisdiction; they also decide appeals brought to them by residents of the circuit from various administrative tribunals, including the Tax Court and agencies of the federal government.

The territorial jurisdiction of the Tenth Circuit includes the six states of Oklahoma, Kansas, New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, and Utah, plus those portions of the Yellowstone National Park extending into Montana and Idaho.

The Clerk of the Tenth Circuit is Christopher M. Wolpert.  The Chief Deputy Clerk is Jane K. Castro.

Map & Directions

The Byron White U.S. Courthouse
1823 Stout Street
Denver, CO 80257
Map It!

Clerk's Office

Hours Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Mountain Time
(303) 844-3157