You are here

Honorable Nancy L. Moritz Investiture Held at Washburn University

Friday, October 17, 2014

TOPEKA, Kans. – The Honorable Nancy L. Moritz took her formal oath of office as an Article III judge on the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals today at White Concert Hall on the Washburn University campus in Topeka, Kansas. Approximately four hundred people attended the ceremony. Retired Kansas Supreme Court Justice Edward Larson presented her with the presidential commission. Members of her family made remarks, including daughter Kathleen Landis, siblings Kathy Moritz Gasper and John Moritz, and Uncle Charles Moritz, as did her former colleagues Kansas Supreme Court Justice Lee A. Johnson and attorney Diane Worth. After the Tenth Circuit’s Chief Judge Mary Beck Briscoe administered the oath of office, daughter Sarah Roe and son-in-law Ryan Roe presented Judge Moritz with her robe. Judge Moritz officially joined the court on July 30, 2014, when Judge Eric Melgren of the District of Kansas administered the oath of office in a private ceremony.

Judge Moritz was nominated by President Obama and later confirmed by the Senate on May 5, 2014. Prior to accepting her commission Judge Moritz served on the Kansas Supreme Court beginning in 2011. She previously served on the Kansas Court of Appeals. Her career also includes serving as an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Kansas and as an attorney in private practice at Spencer Fane Britt & Browne in Kansas City and Overland Park.

Judge Moritz grew up in Tipton, Kansas, and she attended Washburn University and Washburn University Law School in Topeka, Kansas.

Judge Moritz’s temporary chambers are in Lawrence, Kansas.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals hears federal appeals from the states of Colorado, Kansas, Utah, New Mexico, Wyoming and Oklahoma. The court’s primary headquarters are in Denver, Colorado.