You are here

Ceremony Marks Naming Federal Courthouse in Oklahoma City for Circuit Judge William J. Holloway, Jr.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY—Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals is pleased to announce that a ceremony was held February 12, 2016 dedicating the federal courthouse in Oklahoma City as William J. Holloway, Jr. United States Courthouse.  Judge Holloway was the longest sitting judge on the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, which includes Oklahoma.  Judge Holloway passed away April 25, 2014 at the age of 90.

The ceremony was held at 2:00 p.m. in the ceremonial courtroom of the newly renamed courthouse at 200 N.W. 4th Street in Oklahoma City.

In January 2015, U.S. Senator Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma, introduced legislation proposing to change the name of the federal courthouse in Oklahoma City to honor Judge Holloway.  Senate Bill 261 was signed into law by President Obama on October 5, 2015.

Judge Holloway had a long and distinguished career, culminating in more than 45 years on the federal appellate bench.  He was held in high esteem by his fellow judges, and known for his humility, civility, and dedication to the rule of law.

Born in Hugo, Oklahoma, Judge Holloway served in the United States Army during World War II, from 1943 to 1946.  He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1947 and went on to Harvard Law School, receiving an LL.B. in 1950.  After a brief stint in private practice, Judge Holloway served as an Attorney in the General Litigation Section, Claims Division, of the U.S. Department of Justice in Washington, D.C.  He returned to private practice in Oklahoma City until 1968, when he was nominated by President Lyndon B. Johnson to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.  He was confirmed by the United States Senate on September 13, 1968, and received his commission on September 16, 1968.

During his more than 45 years with the court, Judge Holloway authored over 900 opinions.  He served as the chief judge of the circuit from 1984 to 1991.

The Tenth Circuit, with administrative headquarters in Denver, Colorado, encompasses the states of Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming.  The William J. Holloway, Jr. U.S. Courthouse serves the Western District of Oklahoma.